Indigenous All-Stars out to prove a point

IN WHAT MAY be one of, if not the, final instalments of this annual fixture the Indigenous All-Stars will look to claim revenge over their World counterparts tonight.

Having lost the corresponding fixture last season 12-8 the Indigenous side looks well poised to walk out easy winners at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

With Johnathan Thurston coming into the side the Indigenous team look immediately more threatening than they were last season, and the inclusion of young gun rookies Latrell Mitchell and Bevan French means they have points all across the field.

Veterans Greg Inglis and Andrew Fifita certainly add presence to an already impressive line up, and the partnership of Thurston and Ash Taylor in the halves should see them dictating the pace of the game with relative ease over their unpredictable opposites.

While the game is obviously not won on paper the line-ups give a clear indication of which way this clash will go.

The World team have had to deal with numerous withdrawals, with the likes of Joey Leilua, Jarryd Hayne and Sosaia Feki all ruled out through injury.

We’re pretty confident the Indigenous side will take care of business, despite the hot conditions that will no doubt play a role in both sides performances.

We’ve taken the Indigenous side to cover an adjusted handicap in our banker bets for the day, and we don’t see it being much of a sweat.

Take a look at the squads and try telling us we won’t get this one spot on.

The World All Stars squad:
2. David Mead (Brisbane Broncos)
19. Akuila Uate (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
3. Gerard Beale (Cronulla Sharks)
4. Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)
5. Nene Macdonald (St George Illawarra Dragons)
6. Mitchell Moses (Wests Tigers)
7. Moses Mbye (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs)
8. Jordan McLean (Melbourne Storm)
9. Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)
10. Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)
11. Gavin Cooper (North Queensland Cowboys)
12. Bryce Cartwright (Penrith Panthers)
13. Tepai Moeroa (Parramatta Eels)
14. Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
15. Paul Vaughan (St George Illawarra Dragons)
16. Sam Lisone (New Zealand Warriors)
17. Mitch Aubusson (Sydney Roosters)
18. Sione Mata’utia (Newcastle Knights)
20. Jordan Turner (Canberra Raiders)
21. Chris McQueen (Gold Coast Titans)

The Indigenous All Stars squad:
1. Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)
2. Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
3. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
4. Jack Bird (Cronulla Sharks)
5. Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights)
6. Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
7. Ash Taylor (Gold Coast Titans)
8. Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)
9. Nathan Peats (Gold Coast Titans)
10. Andrew Fifita (Cronulla Sharks)
11. Joel Thompson (St George Illawarra Dragons)
12. Wade Graham (Cronulla Sharks)
13. Kyle Turner (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
14. Leilani Latu (Penrith Panthers)
15. Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters)
16. Aidan Sezer (Canberra Raiders)
17. Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers)
18. Tyrone Roberts (Gold Coast Titans)
19. Bevan French (Parramatta Eels)
20. Chris Smith (Sydney Roosters)

World All-Stars v Indigenous All-Stars
Kick-off: 8pm (AEST)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here